Skip to content

Salt and pepper beef heart

September 17, 2012

A few weeks ago, I went to a beef farm nearby, where they sold 100% grass-fed beef in a variety of cuts, including organ meat. I bought a bunch of organ meat because I’ve eaten beef liver, tripe, and tongue, and figured the low prices were worth it. Along with the liver, tongue, and various beef cuts, I also picked up about four pounds of beef heart, which I had never tried before. I have a love of chicken hearts that I buy from the Asian market every once in a while, so I expected the beef heart to taste similarly.

It was kind of like eating beef-flavored squid. I sliced the pieces lengthwise very thinly, because I found that the chewiness caused the thicker slices to get too tough. I gave the pieces a simple saute in its own fat that I shaved off the heart before slicing into pieces. Salt and pepper at the end. I also left the pieces rare, like regular meat. Official directions below.

Ingredients
1 lb beef heart
salt and pepper to taste

Directions
(1) Slice away pieces of fat collected around the heart and add to a pan. Slice heart into long pieces 1/2-inches thick and set aside.
(2) Heat the pan with the heart fat on medium-high until it begins to sizzle. Move the pieces of fat around the pan to coat the bottom of the pan evenly. Add the heart slices and saute until no longer pink on one side, about 2-3 minutes, depending on preferences for degree of cooking for steak.
(3) Turn slices over and cook another 1-2 minutes, depending on preferences for degree of cooking for steak. Add salt and pepper. Turn off heat and remove heart pieces onto a plate. Serve and eat immediately.

Dai Dai

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment